1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

[Slam] Patrick Patterson on his Rookie Year

Discussion in 'Houston Rockets: Game Action & Roster Moves' started by Hayesfan, Apr 14, 2011.

1. Hayesfan

Hayesfan Contributing Member

http://www.slamonline.com/online/the-magazine/features/2011/04/mr-clean/

by Patrick Patterson (as told to Chris O’Leary)

My rookie season had its ups and downs. After Summer League I went back to Houston and got my house situated, had a little vacation and started working hard practicing every day, working out. Just adapting to change.

Learning to live by myself has been hard. In high school, I had my parents. In college, I had my teammates as roommates, and now I’m living alone, cleaning, doing something I’ve never done before. I didn’t hire a cleaning lady. I mean, I thought about it, but then they say it’s $100 every time they come and clean, and thinking about it, like, what’s she do? Wash dishes, mop the floors, clean the counters, make up my bed, organize stuff. If I just keep myself neat, I can do it myself and save money.

I was in the D-League for four and a half weeks. I just worked on my game. I was in the gym, constantly working out, every single day. I really couldn’t do much else. I had a car, but I didn’t really know where everything was, so the only thing I did outside of basketball was go to the movies, which was five minutes away and go eat at Subway and shop at Wal-Mart.