1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

[salary.com] Survey: Tattoos Hurt Your Chances To Getting A Job

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by SwoLy-D, Sep 17, 2013.

1. SwoLy-D

SwoLy-D Contributing Member

Survey: Tattoos Hurt Your Chances of Getting a Job

Find Out How Tattoos/Piercings Can Limit Your Career
    [more]

I think we all knew this. :eek: Didn't we?

2. jo mama

jo mama Contributing Member

it depends on the industry you work in, but in general i would agree...and i have several tattoos.

i work in a pretty conservative industry and i have to say when i see people with visible tattoos even i think its kind of unprofessional. if i was a sales manager i would make them cover up. the most common i see are women with ankle tattoos.

there are still plenty of people out there who do not like tattoos and look down on people with them. first impressions are huge, especially in sales or a service-driven business and visible tattoos are still a negative to many.

again, i have several tattoos.

3. JuanValdez

JuanValdez Contributing Member

My wife has had employees with visible tattoos, which was a concern. Obviously, we hired them anyway, but it's a customer-facing business so you're concerned about the image you present to the public. For our image, we want customers to respect the employees' education, experience, and professionalism, and the class-associations that come with tattoos run counter to the effect we want. In that regard, I think you have to put more focus on the rest of your presentation -- your clothes, your hair, your demeanor, etc -- to offset the handicap you gave yourself with a tattoo.