1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Patrick Patterson Post-Draft Diary

Discussion in 'Houston Rockets: Game Action & Roster Moves' started by idrockfan, Jul 19, 2010.

1. idrockfan

idrockfan Contributing Member

[Sports Illustrated] Patrick Patterson Post-Draft Diary

First Summer League experience ends on high note for new Rocket

What's up everyone? Just finished my first NBA Summer League in Las Vegas, and it was great. But before I went out there, our team had two-a-days in Houston and while I was in town I got a chance to scout out my new home. Some of my new teammates helped me find a nice, gated community near a grocery store and some fun spots to go out to at night, and though I'm still learning all the great places in the Houston area, I've already explored the The Galleria shopping center and found a great soul food restaurant in Midtown.

I flew to Vegas on July 8 and was en route with some of my teammates when LeBron announced "The Decision." I thought he might go to Chicago, but the Miami choice didn't surprise me. I think people are being too critical of LeBron; I'm sure he would have wanted to win a title in Cleveland, but he just didn't think he could. You go to the NBA to play basketball and to win championships. You can't blame a guy for wanting to win championships. I think it's wrong for people to portray him as an villain.

When we first heard the news, one of my teammates was like, "Man, I'm glad we only have to play them twice!" It cracked me up, though I can't say I disagree. That team will be a monster, so I'm glad they're in the Eastern Conference.