1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Of all the teams out there..

Discussion in 'Houston Rockets: Game Action & Roster Moves' started by latebloomer19, Jun 5, 2013.

1. latebloomer19

latebloomer19 Member

Why did you choose to be a rocket fan?

Hi guys, it may seem to be another thread on how you became a rocket fan etc. I'm a fan from the Philippines, and I've been here on clutchfans since 2009 but I've been checking this site since 2007. I was only 3 years old when I first got to see the rockets on tv. My dad introduced me too Hakeem Olajuwon, not Michael Jordan. He was astonished by the way that Dream played, from his footwork and amazing all around defense. From that day on, I grew up as a rockets fan and my dad kept on buying me nba trading cards. I grew to play basketball like hakeem, doing post moves, dream shake, fadeaway shots like the dream did eventhough I'm only 5'9. Then came steve franchise and yao. I still did like them even if the jerseys were that ugly. I really didn't care what my friends used to say about yao being thin, yao being to soft, yao would be destroyed by shaq. Believe me guys, fans here in the phil. Are only interested for those well known players or star studded teams like miami and lakers. When tmac was traded here in houston, I didn't really know him that well before, that at first, I didn't like the trade because steve was part of that trade. But when tmac was with the rockets, it was the best days of my life as a fan. I would like to continue my story but I'm at work and had only to share this as a fellow fan. We could really use some new jerseys though right?

So may I ask the other fans here, how did you become a fan? :)

2 people like this.
  2. Fullcourt

Fullcourt Contributing Member

Lived in Houston since I was a baby.