1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Investing Help

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by Buck88, Mar 4, 2011.

1. Buck88

Buck88 Contributing Member

Ok, so after 2 years of hard work I have just gotten debt-free besides my house note. I have no real savings to speak of (all went to paying off debt) and outside my company's 401K, no real investment/retirement plan. I currently make around 80K and I am still fairly young (32) and I am wanting some advice on "where to start". Should I go to an Edward Jones or some other investment firm? Should I just go get an IRA? I have no knowledge of the stock market so doing it on my own is out. I am basically starting from scratch....suggestions?

2. bobrek

bobrek Politics belong in the D & D

The first question is what are your end goals? Are you looking for a savings plan or are you looking for an income stream?

3. Buck88

I guess I am more-or-less looking for a savings plan. I'm looking more toward retirement...you know, I'd like to have my money working for me and hopefully be comfortable when I am luckly enough to retire in 30-35 years.

4. TheRealist137

TheRealist137 Member

put all of your eggs in one basket.

diversifying is for pu**ies.

5. Commodore

Commodore Contributing Member

6. lost_elephant

lost_elephant Contributing Member

Max out your 401k. The limit for 2011 is 16,500, so defer that amount into the plan. Assuming you max out, and given your compensation level, you will not be able to defer additional money into an IRA.

If your plan allows after-tax (not Roth) deferrals, you may also take advantage of that and defer in excess of the IRC Sec. 402(g) limit of 16,500.

Also, max out your health savings account (if your company offers one).

7. Dream Sequence

Dream Sequence Contributing Member