1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

I got in a big car accident, but don't have the idiot's insurance info.

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by Swishh, Jun 29, 2014.

1. Swishh

Swishh Member

Some idiot ran a red light and hit my car - completely wrecking the front. Highway patrol / police came. However, they didn't give me the idiot's insurance info, so what am I supposed to do?

The police took down my insurance info and theirs - but didn't share that info with me. What to do?

(I'm a relatively new driver, so apologies if this is a dumb question)

2. CometsWin

CometsWin Breaker Breaker One Nine

Uh, get it from the police or get the police report and contact the driver.

3. B-Bob

B-Bob "94-year-old self-described dreamer"

Once there's an incident report, I believe the insurance companies get all the info automatically. It may depend on the state a bit, but you may even hear from your insurance company before they hear from you.

If in doubt, agree with ^: call the PoPo and ask them about it.

4. A_3PO

A_3PO Member

Don't sweat it. The police report will have both insurances.

Important question: Was a ticket issued to either driver?

5. Rocket River

Rocket River Member

Exactly.
    The 'wording' of the report could be important as well.

Rocket River

6. Swishh

Swishh Member

So, I should contact my insurance since they got the police report, correct?

I didn't get one, but the idiot might have - he had some alcohol (not sure how much) prior to the incident.

7. Horry4theWin

Horry4theWin Member

Contact your insurance company ASAP and share any information with them that you have. They should be able to do the rest and contact the other person's insurance, especially if you're not liable.

8. Swishh

Swishh Member