1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Genealogy Websites Were Key To Big Break In Golden State Killer Case

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by No Worries, Apr 27, 2018.

1. No Worries

No Worries Contributing Member

Genealogy Websites Were Key To Big Break In Golden State Killer Case

Falcons Talon likes this.
  2. DCkid

DCkid Contributing Member

Will be interesting to see the ramifications of this. I'm no lawyer, but something doesn't sound right. You can find a partial DNA match on a distant relative, who may not live anywhere near the suspect and doesn't even know he exists. And then with some family tree traversing and some basic cross-referencing police work, you can find your perp.

Question is whether a genalogy website(s) actually gave access to the police, or if the police just did it incognito. It would be pretty easy to spoof. Just create a dummy account on one one of the websites. Send in a sample of the perpetrator's DNA. Wait for any match results to come back. Easy peasy. Can't imagine those websites would be very happy with their service being used like that. And although, I don't plan on committing any crimes and sincerely hope no one closely related to me would either, this makes me uneasy enough to be glad I never sent in a DNA sample to one of those services. It's kind of like, what else can those DNA results be used for that we haven't thought of yet?

3. Duncan McDonuts

Duncan McDonuts Contributing Member

That's what worries me. I'd rather not be in a database if possible. People didn't think Facebook would sell their data yet here we are. Someone will come up with a way to utilize DNA for the wrong reasons.

Rocket River and Falcons Talon like this.
  4. Falcons Talon

Falcons Talon Contributing Member