1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Credit Repair

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by firecat, Oct 20, 2004.

Tags:
  1. firecat

firecat Contributing Member

It seems lately that I've seen all kinds of services that offer credit repair. I'm soon to get married and we will be looking for a house as well. My credit is not good at all and I was hoping that there were some options to improve my credit.

Are their services that could really help me, or is it a scam?

2. m_cable

m_cable Contributing Member

Depends on what they mean by credit repair. I used to work as a CSR for a credit counseling agency and I found out that the only way to really repair your credit is to pay off your debt and get it wiped off your credit report. Also those credit reports only show the past seven years of your credit history, so you can sort of wait it out, EXCEPT the creditor has the option of extending the debt for another seven years if they have any intention of collecting. Usually they will just let it go and write off bad debts, but they have the option to keep it on the books.

If some of your debts has gone to a collection agency then something might be worked out. BUT there is a difference between a collection agency buying a debt off a creditor and a collection agency handling the debt collection for a creditor. If the CA has bought the debt then you can probably settle it for a smaller percentage of the debt and have them wipe it off your record. They already bought your debt from the creditor for pennies on the dollar and will just be happy to make money off the exhange.