1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

[Advice] Making a Life Change

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by SirCharlesFan, Apr 2, 2007.

1. SirCharlesFan

SirCharlesFan Contributing Member

Hey guys. I thought I'd be the most recent to jump on the bandwagon and create a thread asking for advice from my BBS brethren.

I am about to turn 23 and am at the tail end of my first year of law school. I have a Bachelor's degree, but with my major, it is probably worth less than the paper it is printed on. The only money I have in my bank account is from student loans that I started to take out this year. I really don't like law school and I don't think I'll make a good lawyer. I've always been a good student, and finished with a GPA near 4.0 in undergrad (not saying that as an indicator of my intelligence, but rather that I'm not afraid to do hard work).

In law school, I'm not passionate about what I'm doing. I hope I'm not being too naive in hoping that I can find a career that I enjoy. Since starting law school, I've been a mediocre student and it's made me feel mediocre. Every day I wake up and tell myself "OK -- this is the day where I'll do better and change!" but it still hasn't happened. My grades are decent, I'm even in the top half of the class. I'm just not that happy. I know if I truly cared and put the time in, I could be near the top of my class at law school. The thing is, I just don't have the desire or passion to be a great law student. Being an attorney comes with a lot of responsibility and pressure. I don't want to get out there and mess up someone's lawsuit because I'm not giving full effort -- I feel that if I can't give it my all in law school, I won't be a good lawyer after graduation.