1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

[MacBook]Purchasing a Macbook Pro

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by Royals Ego, May 28, 2008.

1. Royals Ego

Royals Ego Member

Been wanting to purchase a new laptop for a while now. I guess a regular macbook will do, but I rather have a macbook pro.

My question is, on the apple store website, there are educational discounts for students. Are all the discounts the same across the board, or would I receive a bigger discount if I attended one school over another?

And, are there any advantages to purchasing a macbook pro from a retailer or over the internet?

It's my first time using a Mac since the 4th grade. Easy? Hard?

Does my student discount question even make sense? :(

2. Pizza_Da_Hut

Pizza_Da_Hut I put on pants for this?

Not completely, it's a straight up discount, it used to be a percent but not anymore, now its a set amount.

As for using one thats debatable. A lot of mac users say it's easier, a lot of PC users disagree. Personally I think HP is best way to go for students, my tablet was normally $1899 and I got it via the APP store (HP's student discount program) for $1200. It can do all that a mac can do and more. Depending on how much you wanna spend and what you wanna do. Personally I think buying a mac is more of a statement of how much money you can waste and not about preference. I'd say if you decide to go the mac route don't go through retailers, the Apple Store will set you up, and definitely get the Apple Care. BestBuy does sell macs at decent prices, but I'd hate for you to deal with those idiots in blue (I used to be one).

3. professorjay

professorjay Contributing Member