1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Jeremy and Rockets player stats up to end of Feb

Discussion in 'Houston Rockets: Game Action & Roster Moves' started by TTNN, Mar 1, 2013.

1. TTNN

TTNN Member

Just realized I could start new thread now, yeah!:grin:

Okay, this is my first time doing this kind of data analysis. I'm no Bball expert, just a nerd who has good affinity to numbers. I'm not trying to introduce new formula, but rather just try different visualization of number distribution, and hopefully see some trend with limited sample size.

First, I've seen people talking about turnovers, so I pull out data for our 5 main players: Lin, Harden, Pasons, Asik, and Delfino. I grouped their each game's turnover number by win or lost games, and following box plot shown the distribution.

[​IMG]

A little explanation on how to read the graph: Y-axis is the turnover number per game. Each box shown the distribution of middle 50% of data point, and vertical line gives the span of all data point, whereas the white line in the middle of the box indicate the median of the data set, the number is shown in the table under the graph. Blue group contains data from lost, and red indicate win games. Individual dots are considered outliers.

As shown in the graph, even though people complained about Delfino, and Pasons's TOV, collectively there is not much difference in games that we won vs. games that we lose. They just statistically will turn over that much, or that less.

Harden and Asik on the other hand, better watchout their turnovers, as it does shown they tend to have more turnovers in games we lose.