1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

What do people think about Bitcoin?

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by Spooner, Jan 25, 2014.

?

What is the fate of Bitcoin?

1. Currency of the future

35.0%
  2. Passing Fad

65.0%
  1. Dr of Dunk

Dr of Dunk Clutch Crew

Do you guys know of any good sites that talk about tax implications or how to report cryptocurrency transactions, gains/losses, etc. to the IRS?

2. Commodore

Commodore Contributing Member

I think it's treated like capital gains

3. Space Ghost

Space Ghost Contributing Member

Im not an expert on this subject, but doesn't bitcoin have to be recognized as an actual investment vehicle controlled by the fed before it can be treated as capital gains?

I suspect it will be treated as standard income and you can't write off any losses.

Find some sucker who will sell you a house or something with bitcoin and force them to deal with the tax liability.

4. HR Dept

HR Dept Contributing Member

Can't believe I slept on cryptos for this long. It took a friend of mine showing me how real and accesible this is.

I'm in, and Coinigy will live in an open tab on my MacBook at all times.

5. Space Ghost

I am a little surprised this thread has been sitting quiet. I really wished I payed more attention to block chain technology earlier. The more I research and delve into this world, the more I find myself amazed. Block chain technology is going to explode in 2018. There are going to be plenty of everyday people who will make a fortune and there will be those who are going to lose their ass.