1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Sources: Rockets have eyes on Rondo

Discussion in 'Houston Rockets: Game Action & Roster Moves' started by cyberx, Feb 17, 2014.

1. mrm32

mrm32 Member

Unless they get Harden or Howard, I doubt it. I don't see a Houston and Boston deal coming together unless we get a 3rd team in there.

2. BeardSanity

BeardSanity Member

I can definitely see a us pulling a trade, but it would have to be with a third team.

I'm not a cap expert, but they have TWO ugly contracts (till 2015/2016) on their team we could take off their hands. Jeff Greene 9.2 mill and Gerald Wallace 10.1mill.
    Gerald Wallace being the obvious uglier one.

Again I'm not sure how the cap numbers would work...but

Rockets send: TPE (going to a 3rd team)+Jones+ Ariza+ Moti+Capella+ Cov or Cannan+NOP 1st+ Houston 2nd + NYK 2nd

Rockets incoming: Rondo+ Greene or Wallace.

If wallace is included, I'm not even sure we do that trade.

Im not arguing whether we should make that trade (if it makes us bette or worse), My point is, if we can find a way to take back one of Greene or Wallace we have enough assets to bring in a player like Rondo.

3. basketballholic

cyberx,

Looking back over this thread......

Is it fair to say that both Ainge and Morey overplayed their hands?? We wound up losing CP and Ainge is most likely going to get a much lower return on Rondo IF he trades him.