1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

[Official] Red Sox @ Astros

Discussion in 'Houston Astros' started by Castor27, May 24, 2019.

1. HTown2017Champs

I'm no medical expert, but, would this have been avoidable without that slide for the ball? Or was his hamstring already worn out and the pull was something "waiting to happen"? This just really, really sucks. Also, the trickle-down effect. I'd love to see more Jake, he's having a great year in both the field and at the plate, but when he's not in CF? Not a fan of Kemp there (gonna tell it like it is, he's a little small for CF for my tastes), I'd rather see him at 2B/LF/DH, and Fisher in CF if Jake gets a rest.

2. rockets94-95

rockets94-95 Member

Yep. Grade 2. Figure anywhere from June 21 to July 19 for his return. That would be 4-8 weeks. My bet is that he returns shortly after the All Star Break.

3. SemisolidSnake

I'm also not a medical expert, but I've had a lot of annoying injuries in sports over the years, and they mainly just seem like freak occurrences, particularly when it comes to sprains and strains. I'm sure those sorts of injury chances are magnified by insufficient stretching, but I doubt that's a problem for professional teams with full training staffs and strict body maintenance programs.

Springer's slide was definitely awkward enough that it could fall within the freak occurrence realm of things.