1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Trump Youth Taunt Native American Elder

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout: Debate & Discussion' started by Carl Herrera, Jan 19, 2019.

1. FranchiseBlade

FranchiseBlade Contributing Member
    Supporting Member

No, you don't 'got it'. Nothing you said was accurate.

2. fchowd0311

fchowd0311 Contributing Member

As a combat vet, I always am told by veterans in non combat roles that all servicemembers are all equally important and deserving of praise for their service.

If Phillips stated that he was a "recon ranger", that would be a lie and he deserves some scrutiny. He never stated he served in Vietnam though. He kinda snaked his way with tricky wording.

There is no "recon ranger" billet in the Marine Corps anyways. We have Recon Marines but they changed that to MARSOC.

3. HTM

HTM Member

I’m not a vet and you can tell me. Would you think it’s wrong to allow people to believe you were an actual Vietnam Veteran when in reality you were a Vietnam “era” Veteran? That seems really bad to me.

4. FranchiseBlade

Supporting Member

Whether or not he was a Vietnam Vet doesn't change the fact that he did nothing wrong in the situation with the teens.

I don't want to harp on it, but he was a fridge mechanic so we all know that is bad and that is one stink that won't wash off of him ever. So it is okay to give him grief for that at any time.

5. HTM

HTM Member

Correct. Just a separate and aside thing stemming from this regarding service and how it is represented/ allowed to be represented.

FranchiseBlade likes this.
  6. mick fry

mick fry Member

At least he’s not a cracker fridge mechanic, am I right?

7. fchowd0311

fchowd0311 Contributing Member